The Flea Is NOT Dead!

Page 20 copy

Dear ladies and gentleman:

Although The Poet and the Flea is currently on hiatus, I wanted to reassure you all that I continue to fastidiously work on this project every spare moment I have.

RESEARCH

This past May, I had the most amazing experience in London seeing William Blake’s works in person for the first time and tracing his steps through the city. Now that I am back in San Francisco, I want to check that I haven’t missed or overlooked any significant episodes of Blake’s life and make sure my script is as intriguing and encompassing as possible. I’ve been slowly working through The Life of William Blake by Alexander Gilchrist from cover to cover and hope to someday soon get my hands on a copy of The Stranger from Paradise: A Biography of William Blake by G. E. Bentley Jr. I’ve also re-read the biography by Denise Vultee on The William Blake Archive and found some useful articles on JSTOR. Recommendations are welcomed!

SCRIPT

I’ve completed a good chunk of the script for The Poet and the Flea, but there are still elements (stories, facts, etc.) I want to add and/or expand upon. Currently, the written script is about 63 pages long and will be somewhere between 65-75 pages upon completion. To give you a better idea, page 30 of the illustrated pages coincides with the bottom of page 9 in the written script. I envision the completed graphic novel to be around 200 to 300 pages, possibly in two or three volumes. This graphic novel is a prodigious endeavor and I want to make sure I give my utmost attention to every detail!

STORE

Recently, I’ve been busy stocking up inventory of original zines and Flea-related merchandise for fests/expos as well as for the upcoming opening of my online store (thepoetandtheflea.storenvy.com). I’m thinking of ordering professionally printed zines of the first 10 pages of The Poet and the Flea to serve as an introduction for those at fests/expos who have yet to read the graphic novel online and as a collectible for fans. How does that sound?

FAN ART

If anyone is interested in creating fan art or something of that nature, I would be delighted to post your work on my Fan Art page! If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to e-mail me at gegallas@hotmail.com. :)

BONUS

For the next five Wednesdays, I plan on posting never-before-seen character designs that I created when I began working on The Poet and the Flea in 2012. These character designs contain some subtle hints/foreshadowing of what’s to come in future installments, so I very much look forward to sharing these with you!!!

Also, I’ve begun posting The Poet and the Flea on my Pinterest: pinterest.com/gegallas. So please feel free to follow me there and re-pin pages from The Flea! :D

Best regards,

G. E.

Main Blog: gegallas.wordpress.com

Homepage: gegallas.wix.com/writer

Facebook: facebook.com/gegallas

Twitter: twitter.com/gegallas

***

tumblr / twitter / blog.

***

Copyright 2013 by G. E. Gallas

About gegallas

G. E. Gallas is a screenwriter and graphic novelist (writer/illustrator) best known for "The Poet and the Flea," a fantastical reimagining of the life of the poet-painter William Blake. Originally from Washington D.C., she spent her year abroad in Tokyo, Japan and graduated from New York University: Gallatin School of Individualzed Study with a major involving cross-cultural storytelling. Spring 2013, she attended the Cannes International Film Festival and spoke upon invitation to The Blake Society, London. February 2014, her illustrations will be featured in the young adult title "Scared Stiff: Everything You Need To Know About 50 Famous Phobias." View all posts by gegallas

One response to “The Flea Is NOT Dead!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 360 other followers

